post

A Raspberry Jalapeno Sherbet for the Hot Humid Days of August

“Jalapenos in your what?” you say. Yes, jalapenos are very versatile and go very well with with berries and sweets. They balance the sweetness of fruits with their herbaceous flavor and the spice is quite nice too. I paired them with raspberries for a sweet, tart and spicy sherbet because I was thinking about this awesome raspberry and jalapeno jam a friend got for me from Santa Fe last year that I polished off in like two weeks! There was no way I was going to make jam in this crazy hot, humid weather we’ve been having here so sherbet was perfect.

Sherbet is a little creamier than sorbet since it contains heavy cream, sorbet has no cream at all. Next time I make it I’ll use a finer strainer since quite a few seeds came through so if you mind the seeds then I suggest you do the same. This sherbet is a little tangy and the spice lingers at the back of your throat nicely. It’s a perfect treat for the hot, humid days of August.
Raspberry Jalapeno Sherbet
Recipe adapted from my Big Chill ice cream maker

Pint of Raspberries
1/2 cup sugar
3-4 slices of jalapeno, diced
1/2 cup water
2/3 cup heavy cream

1. Add the raspberries, sugar, jalapeno slices and water to a saucepan and mash up well. On medium heat, let mixture come to a boil until some of the liquid boils down. Let mixture cool and so jalapeno spice comes through.

2. Pour mixture through a sieve or strainer to remove the seeds and collect mixture in a bowl. If you want jalapeno pieces in your sherbet add back some of it back, this is optional. Add the cream and stir well.

3. Refrigerate mixture for at least 3-4 hours and then pour into your ice cream maker and follow the manufacturers directions.

4. Pour mixture into a container and freeze overnight or for several hours. Garnish with mint if you like or chop up mint and mix into sherbet for a spicy, minty raspberry goodness.

Comments

  1. Hi Maria, it was lovely to meet you at BlogHer12, and I’m happy to have found your blog with its spicy treats! I’m from Texas), so anything with jalapenos gets my attention. I’ll look forward to trying this one, for sure.

    • Thanks for visiting Anita, wonderful meeting you as well. So glad you enjoy spicy food, I have plenty jalapeno dishes for you to try! Let me know what you think of the sherbet.

Leave a Reply

